Workplace Injury Attorney in Atlanta
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, about 3 out of every 100 full-time workers sustained a workplace injury in 2017, and 1 out of every 100 full-time workers sustained an injury that resulted in days away from work. In Georgia, specifically, the injury rate in the private sector was about the same as the national rate, about 3 injuries per 100 full time workers, with over 82,000 recordable injuries occurring in 2016. An estimated 44,500 of these injuries were considered to be more severe and involved time away from work, a job transfer, or working under physical restrictions.
These statistics include many different types of injuries that vary in severity. However, more than likely, each person that sustained one of these injuries filed a workers’ compensation claim in one form or another. Some of these claims are executed without any issues arising. The employee might have gotten medical care and returned to work without a problem, but a large percentage of these cases result in a contentious situation between the employee and their employer. Delays in medical care, lost wage benefits, or both are just a few of the challenges that injured workers face every day, which is why it is important that you, as an injured worker, to understand the rights that are afforded under the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Act.
3 Common Questions After a Workplace Accident in Atlanta, GA?
When an accident occurs while you are at work, you will inevitably have a host of different questions. Who do I report the accident to? Who will pay for my medical bills? What is the statute of limitation for a workers’ compensation case in Georgia? These are just a few of the questions that are commonly asked by injured workers. As such, the workers’ compensation attorneys at Cambre and Associates have listed the answers to these common questions below.
Who do I Report a Workers’ Compensation Accident to?
Under O.C.G.A. § 34-9-80, you are required to report your accident to your employer’s agent, representative, foreman, or your immediate superior, and you are required to report your accident within 30 days of it occurring. As a general matter, you should report your injury as soon as the accident occurs, because employers and insurance carriers both become suspicious of claims that are reported after a considerable amount of time has passed. If you wait until after 30 days to report the accident, your employer may deny you benefits.
What is the Statute of Limitations for a Workers’ Compensation Case?
O.C.G.A. § 34-9-82 establishes a one year statute of limitations for workers’ compensation claims. Assuming you reported your claim to your employer, this means that you have one year after the accident occured to initiate your claim for medical or lost wage benefits. If your employer has provided medical care or paid lost wage benefits, you have one year from the date you last received medical care or two years from the date you last received compensation benefits to file a claim for benefits.
Who will Pay for my Medical Bills?
Your employer is required to pay for all of the medical bills incurred due to medical care rendered in connection with injuries sustained as a result of your accident. This includes payment of medical bills for doctor’s appointments, medications, and surgeries. Moreover, you are entitled reimbursement of mileage for driving to medical appointments, but there are some rules regarding mileage reimbursement you should be aware of.
- Your mileage will not be reimbursed unless you submit documentation claiming the trips you made. A mileage form is available on the Georgia Department of Administrative Services’ website
- You have one year from the date the trip was made to claim your mileage
- Mileage is reimbursed in the state of Georgia at a rate of 40 cents per mile, and it is supposed to be reimbursed within 15 days of submission by the insurance company
Georgia Workers’ Compensations
Even with the rights that are afforded to injured workers under the Georgia workers’ compensation system, injured workers are treated unfairly every day by their employers due to their injuries, which is why you should always consult with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney if you have been involved in an accident on the job. At Cambre and Associates, our team of workers’ compensation attorneys are dedicated to fighting for your rights and to obtaining the medical care you need to return to work. So call Cambre and Associates today for a free consultation to find out how a workers’ compensation attorney can help you with your claim.